Non-Executive Director Recruitment

Our Board


Angela Schofield


Angela is an experienced healthcare manager and non executive director.  She has been the chairman of a Primary Care Trust and NHS Foundation Trust in the south of England.

In addition to a career in NHS management, Angela has also worked in higher education at the University of Manchester and Bournemouth University.

In her role of Chairman of Harrogate and District NHS Foundation Trust Angela chairs the Board of Directors and the Council of Governors.


Steve Russell

Chief Executive

Steve Russell brings significant leadership knowledge to the Trust, with a decade of board level experience. He is responsible for ensuring that our services are safe, effective, and well-led.

Jonathan Coulter

Finance Director and Deputy Chief Executive

Jonathan Coulter has contributed significantly to the success of the Trust, both within his role as Finance Director and, more recently, as Deputy Chief Executive.

Jill Foster

Chief Nurse

Jill has a strong track record in professional nursing and operational management. She's passionate about delivering quality fundamental nursing and midwifery care.

Robert Harrison

Chief Operating Officer

As Chief Operating Officer, Robert is responsible for the daily operational management of the Hospital and the achievement of performance targets.

Angela Wilkinson

Director of Workforce and Organisational Development

Angela joined the Trust as Director of Workforce and Organisational Development in November 2018. She brings a wealth of experience and skills to the role.

Dr David Scullion

Medical Director

Dr David Scullion was appointed Consultant Radiologist in Harrogate in 1997, and has been Clinical Lead for Radiology, Deputy Medical Director and, since September 2012, Medical Director.

Non-Executive Directors

Laura Robson

Non-Executive Director

Laura trained as a nurse and midwife in Sunderland before going on to work in clinical and managerial roles for various hospitals in the North East.

Richard Stiff

Non-Executive Director

Richard Stiff retired as Chief Executive of Angus Council in Scotland in May 2017.

Maureen Taylor

Non-Executive Director

Maureen is a Chartered Accountant and was a Chief Officer for Finance at Leeds City Council. She has spent over 31 years in Financial Services at Leeds City Council, qualifying as an accountant in 1987.

Chris Thompson

Non-Executive Director

Chris is a chartered accountant who was Chief Financial Officer at the University of Nottingham from 2007 to 2013.

Lesley Webster

Non-Executive Director

For over 30 years Lesley has had a professional involvement with the NHS. Starting as a registered nurse, she later moved into the medical supply industry in 1987.

Sarah Armstrong

Non-Executive Director

Sarah Armstrong is an experienced leader in the charity sector, and was appointed to the Board of Directors in October 2018.

You can read more about our Board Members here.  

Login / Create account